351565.jpg

Why? is the question asked in this week's Photography Thursday.

The word to describe this week seems to be gray.

First of all, John was gone most of the week and playing single parent that long is never too much fun.

Secondly, the skies were pretty gray and there was a good amount of snow falling, so I was trying to manage three cranky kids and snowplowing in the evenings.

Thirdly, we found out that there are little grey visitors going 'round in Laura's daycare. So there has been a lot of frantic combing, psychosomatic head scratching and excessive hair shampooing. Nothing found so far. When I was a kid, head lice were pretty much non-existent in our school - or were associated with really poor hygiene and untidy living conditions. Not so anymore - apparently lice love clean hair even more than greasy locks. I'm convinced that the spread of the bugs has to do with climate changes. Mild weather means easier survival for pests that generally die in freezing conditions. We'll probably soon be fighting roaches too. Yuck. 

While I was anxiously scrutinizing my own scalp, something grey that glistened in the light caught my eye. Luckily it was just my first grey hairs.