Some of my fondest memories of the years while living in the United States revolve around the Thanksgiving holiday. The very first time I sat down for this feast was two days before I was to be married. I was two months into my sojourn in America, an adventure which would turn into a residency of 7 + 2 years.

Many, many moons later - with my second husband - I was expecting the arrival of my firstborn around Thanksgiving time. She was born on her due date, November 28. Her first birthday fell on the Thanksgiving Thursday and we celebrated it with the American side of the family. Next year, we were together with the family again and this time also raising a toast: I was expecting twins and the news were shared with everyone at Thanksgiving dinner.

Since that get-together three years ago, there has been no turkey. No real traditions either, due to a busy lifestyle and three little monkeys demanding quick and easy meals. However, what remains is a quiet nod to the real meaning of this holiday. With Christmas approaching, and the amount of material possessions only about to increase, it is good to sit down and look at the things in life to be grateful for. Here is my list of plenty:

  1. My family. My unbelievable husband who puts up with my impatience and bouts of immaturity, who's given me the opportunity to make a career change, who never stops surprising me with little things, who is the greatest cook and THE BEST DAD out there. My three kids who test my ability to be a mother to the extremes but who also plant the best kisses, give me the greatest laughs and bring me back to earth when I think life revolves around me.
  2. Our relatives. Especially those who have helped us survive the toughest two years with three little kids. Extra special thanks go to mom who has been around so much when John has had to travel.
  3. Friends. Every parent needs a chance to get away, to talk to someone about things other than poop in the potty, Bob the Builder and bedtime battles.
  4. Teachers and fellow students. I've been so lucky to have the greatest teachers introducing me to the wonders of photography. Student friends who have extended a helping hand in tough situations and unselfishly shared their secrets. You know who you are - thank you.
  5. Nokia. Tomorrow I will have my last Christmas party at Nokia with old colleagues as I am resigning and starting something new. I've got so many good memories, friends for life, unforgettable experiences on trips around the world. And, although Nokia takes my husband away on a regular basis ;-) there is no denying it also brings bread to my table.

                       272273.jpg

                                           Father's day (the Finnish one) 2006