185771.jpg

    Life in an Armenian kitchen, photo taken during my trip to Armenia in May 2006

In the past two weeks I have been photographing a funeral, children in a daycare, my self portrait and events in our neighborhood. This range in the subjects has got me thinking about the purpose of photography. Is it recording of events for future generations, pointing out the injustice taking place in far away places not seen by the masses or 'mere' hedonistic pleasure gained from creating beautiful compositions with gorgeous lighting?

Needless to say, it could tear your soul to pieces to try and accomplish it all. Perhaps it has something to do with aging but I am starting to appreciate the ordinary and simple even in photography. Trying to capture the things that reflect our life as it is now. Imagining/reminiscing about how life used to be when examining photos of the past. In fact, I am planning to start posting photos from my family's past on the blog. Stay tuned for that.

Tomorrow, I am giving a camera to my four-year-old to record her day at the playschool, hoping she will fire away to her heart's content. I might learn something from that ;-)