Over the weekend we had fantabulous summer weather. Just right for a little project.

1527168.jpg

We have been hemming and hawing about what to do with the balcony banister. The wood on the spindles has started to crack, and a couple of them are pretty much gone. But it seems to be really difficult to find someone to make new ones.

Anyway, it's been a real eye sore for us, and we finally decided to just paint it. So what followed was a lot of sanding..... and some more sanding.... and then sparkling white paint.

1527187.jpg

We're a really good team, him and me. We enjoy working together, whether it's in silence or chatting away, cracking jokes here and there.

But then there's the audience. Which, I have to admit, was happy running around, doing this and that outside for the first hour. And then:

  1. 'I'm thirsty'...
  2. 'I fell down.. boooaah..'
  3. 'I need to pee!'
      1. 'I want a scarf too!'
      2. 'Can I come inside?'
      3. 'Help, there's a bee by the swings, a bee!!'
          1. 'Get off, it's my turn!'
          2. 'Mom, she's not letting me on the swing!'
          3. 'Can I have more juice?'

A demanding lot, I tell you. By this time, we had the first six spindles painted.

So, we bought some more time with ice cream.

1527216.jpg

I don't know if other people have the same dilemma with their kids. Gorgeous day, huge yard, swings, slides, bikes and you name it. Nope, we're bored.

Ok, fine come inside. Kiddie channel on and back to the balcony. A few more hours, a couple of sprinkles of rain here and there.......

TA DA!!

1527238.jpg