Violet wrote a while back about this really interesting article that she had found in a French interior magazine. In short, the idea was to choose a few well-known personalities, imagine what kind of things go with their personality and then build a little arrangement on a chair. The chair also depicted a part of their character.

Since then, some of us less well-known personalities ;-) have built chairs of our own. I thought this was a fun way of finding out more about bloggers out there and decided that I should do it too. (I generally have a hard time sticking to one photo only, so you get multiple views.)

1344976.jpg

In my case, this is specifically about the chair. It so happens that I recently stumbled upon quite a few of these Domus chairs up for sale on the web. By the time we got to them, they had been sitting outside, exposed to cold and snow, and had suffered a great deal, but we managed to find about a dozen chairs that could be rescued. Swapping parts between chairs, we figure to get about eight decent chairs out of the bunch.

Domus chair was originally designed in 1947 by Ilmari Tapiovaara. It was a chair that was drawn to be practical: it was to provide a good posture for studying (it was used in many schools and I'm certain that my grade school also had a bunch of these) and to be stackable. Nowadays, the chair has become somewhat of a design classic and sells new for about 300 euros a piece (minimum). We got all these 12 used chairs for less than one new chair..

I think it is the combination of practicality and a hint of femininity that appeals to me in this chair. It is really straightforward, but has nice curves in the seat and the arm rests. I also love the two tones and the patina in the chairs that we found. But most importantly I love the fact that these chairs came from a school: I can just imagine all those students reading, thinking, racking their brains in the exams.

1345011.jpg

Onward to the content. I put this chair together quite quickly, I really had to be somewhere else and not doing this.. I think I first picked some important books to me: Edward Weston's work probably most inspires my photography so his Supreme Instants book was a must here. There is also a book called Recycled home, just one of my many interior design books, but special because it also includes the theme of recycling objects, surfaces and materials in innovative ways. Travel guides and a book on the art and architecture of Egypt, the most exquisite destination I know.

The camera is pretty self-explanatory, the black-and-white prints were done for my favourite photography class Environmental Portraiture. The polka dot negligee was a gift from my husband (he really knows what I like) and always goes with me on travels. The wooden bead bracelets I wear often as my only piece of jewelry. Oranges - just about the only thing I could eat in the beginning months of my pregnancies because everything else made me nauseous - my favourite fruit and an inspiring color.

1345001.jpg

The chair still looked a little sparse and was definitely missing something. Interior magazines, that I read and leaf through every chance I get. Books that are waiting to be read. And light was getting sparse, so I brought in a lamp I bought in Habitat in Paris.

1345126.jpg

Of course, as everyone else, I forgot some VERY IMPORTANT ITEMS so I cheated and did another photo with these things only..

1345140.jpg

Rosemary, the fragrance of which I just cannot get enough of: besides the plant, I have rosemary body scrub, bath foam, aromatherapy, sauna scent - you name it. One of our song books which we sing from every day at bedtime. My iPod and phone, always in my handbag.