This past week has been a treasure hunting week. One antique store closed down and was selling everything off. Also, there was an antique fair going on in town last weekend.

I always say I'm not a material type. An excess of things stresses me out, and I don't much care about shopping and collecting things anymore. But that does not have to apply to old things, does it??

1248184.jpg

I adore things that have a history. Pieces of furniture, surfaces and places that have patina. Layers of life that you yourself have not experienced but can try and imagine.

I found these two albums at the store that was closing down. Full of beautiful old portraits. I'm thinking that it would be nice to try and restore the albums. Maybe not to their full old glory, but into a shape that will allow them to be used again.

1248207.jpg

1248221.jpg

The albums date back to the 20's. One of them is covered in blue velvet, with a brass rose ornament and the other has leather covers.

1248291.jpg

1248301.jpg

Beautiful pattern on the inside cover.

1248319.jpg

At the same place I found boxes of old notes. They don't quite make illustrations like this anymore. These I will use for some sort of an art project, someday I'm sure.

1248328.jpg

1248340.jpg

Poor husband. I think I detected a little sigh when he saw the albums and the pile of notes. I don't think he quite shares my enthusiasm for these things.