The darkest days of the year are here and the landscape has turned black and white, actually into shades of grey. It is dark when we leave the house with the kids in the morning and dark again when we come back in the afternoon.

1077514.jpg

This part of winter, kind of like early spring sucks a lot of energy out of me. On one hand it makes me feel very antisocial, on the other it pushes me to create in my solitude.

Having recently had the urge to make my presence known in Facebook (like half the world's population, it seems), I've been thinking a lot about social networking and life in the web, in Facebook and blogs alike. Something about this urge to appear popular, savvy and perky really bothers me. It somehow seems a little fabricated. Do you know what I mean?? It is like you have to appear to have oodles of friends, loads of cool hobbies and be really into letting everyone know every little detail of your mega-interesting persona.

Yeah, I know. I'm just as guilty of it as everyone else. But I have to say I kind of miss meeting people in real life, over a cup of tea, without any pretension.

But back to creativity. During this period of self reflection, I've found knitting again. I guess it also has something to do with the creeping of winter, the need to create something warm and fluffy. And colorful to off balance the grey outside. Just look at this beautiful ball of yarn that I found in Maakari, the local craft shop that carries a spectacular selection of yarn.

1077517.jpg

It has the most gorgeous shades of orange and red and makes me feel oh so warm. I haven't quite decided what to do with it yet, other than stare at it and admire the variations of color.

I have also been busy on another creative front. My canvas prints that I make from my photographs are coming together, now I just have to start hitting the pavement and knocking on the doors.

1077518.jpg