The summer days have been rolling along and the recent heat wave has made me too lazy to blog. Yard work has also kept me busy.

I did manage to get away though, for a little girls' night in Helsinki, which was a perfect opportunity to test another place to stay. This time I selected Glo.

806762.jpg

For those who love the grandeur of hotel Kämp and thrive in the perfectly central location - but cannot quite justify the cost - the neighboring Glo should be perfect. It is definitely not as elaborately decorated as Kämp (rather minimalist actually) but has been done with style.

The hotel's facade is decidedly modern, as are the interiors. Trendy brown tones dominate both the hallways and the rooms, the furniture has sleek, straight lines and shiny surface materials abound.

806782.jpg

The bed was one of the most sumptous hotel beds I have ever slept in, and on the bed a little sleep menu was awaiting. Glo provides you with a nice choice of pillows, a possibility to select special sheets that ensure better air circulation, ear plugs and other sleep aids. I was quite content with the four fluffy feather pillows and the awesomely comfortable mattress. I have a notoriously finicky lower back so if I slept well, I am sure anyone would.

Other nice touches included a well put-together Globox in the bathroom, with products such as a gel eye mask, Korres natural skin care, a bag of items for handwashing delicates from The Laundress, a sample from the incense store LISN (which has gorgeous scents, I visited the store) and other goodies for a little hotel room pampering.

806850.jpg

I also enjoyed the walk down to breakfast since the hotel corridors were decorated nicely: big canvas photographs alternating with equally big mirrors, which gave an airy feeling to what otherwise would probably have been just ordinary, long, boring walkways.

806867.jpg

Couple of minuses though: the breakfast at La Cocina downstairs is nothing special and the view I had to the inner courtyard was just horrific. Or what do you think:

806887.jpg

It would not be fair to end on a negative note though, considering all the effort that Glo has put forth, so I must say I recommend the place. The price might still be a little steep even though the location is fantabulous, but they were running a special when I was there.. and I suspect that to stay in the competition, they will have to offer special packages every now and then.

Oh, I almost forgot. No bedtime would be perfect without the right tunes.. and Glo helps you play your favorite lullabies with this baby, just plug in your player.

806936.jpg