490161.jpg

I could not be a prouder mother. My 5-year-old daughter has learned to read, all on her own. She has been practising writing for a while, first her name of course, then friends' names on birthday cards, then little stories on her drawings.

Last week when were driving home from the daycare, she started reading a company slogan on the back of a car in front of us. Out of the blue, she read out loud. I then asked her to read what the street signs said.. and sure enough, she was able to do it, slowly... but surely.

I told her how proud, excited and happy I felt about her having learned to read. She looked back at me and smiled, clearly feeling like the smartest little girl on the planet.

Which, of course, she is. I had long planned how we would be sitting on the sofa together, learning how the letters and the sounds and the syllables go together, forming the magical world of words, rhymes and fairytales. But she was way ahead of me, like she always has been. My smart little cookie.

Next day, we picked up an alphabet book with easy-to-read block-letter words for her to practise with and now she is proudly reading away everyday.

490159.jpg